PAY HERE

NOVA Marksmanship Academy, Inc.

VA Concealed Carry Permit Qualification/NRA Training/Non-NRA Clinics

Stafford, Virginia (703) 409-3175

                                            Customer Testimonials


Kim T. 5/1/2017:  Mr. Smith is professional, personable and attentive in making sure all course information is understood and processed by his students. I found the class to be very beneficial and truly engaging, even though we were a small group. I took classes for Instructor Training, and while the content could have been considered dry and repetitive, Mr. Smith made it enjoyable and gave new perspective on processes that are generally well known in the firearms instructors circle. I found the time spent to be very beneficial, absolutely enjoyable and overall incredibly productive. I have every intention to complete other instructor training with Nova Marksmanship Academy.

John N. 3/21/2017:I took the pistol and shotgun instructor certification from Tighe. He was on time and provided real world experience. With limited experience using firearms he took extra time to ensure that i understood the material and even stayed late on the weekend. The hands on approach allowed me to gain the confidence needed to ensure successful future Scout outings.

​Canis M. 2/27/2017:  Knowledgeable and helpful classroom instructor who knows his subject matter and how to communicate it to students.  Would recommend.

​John A. 2/22/2017:  The shotgun instructor's course that I attended was truly an enjoyable experience.   The class was taught in a relaxed comfortable manner. Instructions and explanations were clear and discussions continued until everyone understood.  The practice scenarios were objectively critiqued, giving the students a positive feeling and not a list of the things they did right and wrong.  The next time I am looking for a class NOVA Marksmanship Academy will be the first place I look.

​James M. 2/13/2017:  Great Instructor. I am already signed up to take the CRSO course in FEB.

Matt M, 1/11/2017:I took a pistol instructor course with Tighe Smith (Nova Marksmanship Academy).  The course was thorough and professional.  I plan to take future courses with Nova and would recommend to others who are interested.

Tom S, 1/09/2017:Tighe is an awesome NRA Counselor! I took the Basic Pistol Instructor course (Phase II) from him on 1/8/17 and 1/9/17. Tighe was very knowledgeable and worked with us in great detail to help us become great instructors.

Apollo H, 12/07/2016: NOVA Marksmanship, is the best place I have taken a class at, down to earth very informational teaching, he makes sure you get the a good understanding of the course you are taking. Very at home comfortable setting. Loved it he has my business!

Warren G, ​11/07/2016:  Excellent instruction provided by knowledgeable instructors with great attitudes. Having NRA approved courses taught by NRA Certified Instructors was important to me. Tighe created and environment that any individual would feel comfortable in regardless of their experience and knowledge of firearms. Well done. See you soon for my next course.

Bill, 10/29/2016: Took the first step  shotgun course with Tighe this weekend. The course covers everything i needed to feel comfortable when i stepped up to fire my first rounds. I am looking forward to taking another class soon! 

Luke, 6/13/2016: I went in thinking 12 hours of class is gonna be miserable but I had a lot of fun. I learned some new things and it went by pretty quickly. I'll definitely take another class in the future.

Charlie, 2/23/2016:I have completed training with NOVA Marksmanship Academy and it is OUTSTANDING. They deliver quality training at National standard levels. The instructor is honest, respectful, skilled and highly knowledgeable. I would sign up for additional training without hesitation. Myself I have 30 years global technical training experience so I know a first class trainer when I see one. Our instructor 'Tighe' has a dedication to the training programs and level of professionalism you will find hard to match in this area.

Course materials exceeded expectations and the quality of equipment used for demonstration was perfect. Timekeeping was spot on without feeling rushed or pressured. Total participant involvement ensured all were actively engaged in the course and everyone learnt new methods and skills.


Robert, 2/23/2016:I have completed training with NOVA Marksmanship Academy and it is OUTSTANDING. They deliver quality training at National standard levels. The instructor is honest, respectful, skilled and highly knowledgeable. I would sign up for additional training without hesitation. Myself I have 30 years global technical training experience so I know a first class trainer when I see one. Our instructor 'Tighe' has a dedication to the training programs and level of professionalism you will find hard to match in this area.

Course materials exceeded expectations and the quality of equipment used for demonstration was perfect. Timekeeping was spot on without feeling rushed or pressured. Total participant involvement ensured all were actively engaged in the course and everyone learned new methods and skills.

Daniel, 8/18/2015:  I wanted to be part of the NRA team to promote gun safety and expose the public to the various shooting sports.  I researched the NRA site and located a few local instructors and decided to attend Tighe's course.  He was very friendly and made it possible for me to squeeze into a program that he had already scheduled.  His training technique was very thorough and he made sure that everyone was comfortable with the material before moving on to the next subject.

I would highly recommend Tighe to anyone looking to receive training from the beginner to instructor level.  I highly recommend his services.


Matt, age 37, April 13, 2015:  (Home Firearm Safety Instructor Course) Their instructor safely teaches you what you need to know in order to be a responsible owner. Safety is emphasized throughout the course. The class is ordered logically and takes you through the processes step-by-step--whether it's cleaning, un-/loading, or something more complex. The instruction is hands-on so you should leave the course knowing how-to do each step in the training material. The handouts are also something you can refer to in the future. I definitely recommend this course and instructor. They make you want to go back to learn even more.

Jim, age 56, March 8, 2015: "This [instructor] course I selected took up a weekend, but it was well worth it. You will learn the ways and methods of the NRA from a well experienced and friendly staff. No matter the level of your expertise you will learn something that you can take with you for a lifetime!!"
.
Stacy, February 21, 2015:      "Just completed a 1st-Step course to renew my concealed weapons permit.  The course was very thorough.  Even though I have fired a handgun regularly as a former military police, I was not very comfortable or confident with my new personal carry gun.  Tighe did an excellent job walking us through the process of safely utilizing our guns.  He even convinced me to try a new stance and I saw great results.  I'm now very comfortable with my gun of choice.  I highly recommend this course to anyone, new or experienced!"

Brendon, age 22, January 20, 2015:      "I would highly recommend NOVA to any friends or family. Tighe had a lesson plan but was very open to questions, and provided many anecdotal stories and videos to keep the classroom interesting. They also give you all of the classroom materials to take home with you which is great for reference. The range time was just as valuable. My wife and I have been around guns our whole lives, but we haven't spent much time in ranges or shops; the range time demystified that environment and made us feel much more comfortable. Tighe also helped with our shooting mechanics and our groupings improved throughout the day.Regardless of experience level, I'd highly recommend NOVA Marksmanship Academy."

Scott, age 49, January 19, 2015: "We wanted to have our 13 year old son attend a beginner's rifle course because he is going deer hunting with a family friend soon.   NOVA Marksmanship Academy was great and Nagy (instructor) was amazing.   They are very good with teenagers not only teaching them the specifics but also telling stories about rifle safety that resonate.  I would highly recommend Nagy and his team to any parent.   I took the course as well and was happy that I did because I also learned a great deal."

Nathan, age 29, January 18, 2015:    "Wife had never shot prior to Nagy giving her a quick lesson. Nagy took his time and made her feel comfortable shooting. Since the lesson she has not stopped talking about how awesome it was and how she would love to take more lessons. I would recommend NOVA Marksmanship Academy to anyone looking to shoot pistols for the first time, they should be your first consideration."

Laurel, age 46, January 1, 2015:
"I bought this training as a gift for my three boys (16, 13, 11) and my Dad. I had no idea what to expect. Both trainers made sure we all understood AND that we were having fun. I thought that was a tough job given that we ranged in age from 11 to 70! I highly recommend them, I feel educated, informed and I enjoyed myself!"

Christina, age 22, December 30, 2014: "I took the NRA FIRST Steps Pistol Orientation class
with my father and boyfriend recently and learned a ton! The class went above my expectations and really taught me everything I needed to know about a firearm in just a couple of hours. The instructor was very professional, knowledgeable and patient! I could not have asked for a better one. I went into the class with little knowledge about firearms and walked out being able to handle the firearm on my own and shoot dead center on the target. I would absolutely recommended this company to anyone!"

Kevin, age 37, December 16, 2014: "Taking the NRA FIRST Steps Shotgun Orientation course from instructor Nagy was a great experience. I wanted to take a training course before purchasing my first shotgun. I did research for several days looking for a course and an instructor. I'm glad I found instructor Nagy. First of all, I was very surprised that he didn't cancel the course just because I was the only one who signed up for it. Second of all, I was even more surprised that he was flexible enough to come to my residence to teach the course. This saved me a 60 mile one way trip to the original training location and ensured that I would be able to make it to the shooting range for the shooting portion of the course on the same day. This was a tremendous help for me because of my schedule. It would have been tough for me to reschedule the shooting portion of the course during this time of year. This course exceeded my expectations.
Instructor Nagy is extremely knowledgeable and has a passion for teaching others about firearms and firearms safety. I learned a lot during this course and feel more comfortable with handling and purchasing a shotgun. When we arrived at the range, I was able to apply everything I just learned in the classroom portion of the course with no issues or worries. I highly recommend Nagy for an instructor."
.
Naseer, age 25, December 12, 2014:"Took the pistol course with Tighe. He's very patient and helpful, correcting my form and showing me how to handle my firearm safely."
.
Michael, age 45, November 19, 2014:     "I took the NRA FIRST Steps Rifle Orientation class taught by Nagy & Tighe. This class was very informative; the instructors were knowledgeable of the tough subjects. I enjoyed this class and will return to NOVA Marksmanship Academy for more training."
.
Chuck, age 49, November 12, 2014: "Thanks Nagy for a great intro to the rifle and the fundamentals of gun safety.  My son and I got a lot out of it.  We're going to try one of the outdoor ranges next.  I'll be sure to recommend you to others that may be interested in a first steps course. "
.
Alisa, age 55, November 11, 2014: "I took the NRA FIRST Steps Rifle Orientation class taught by Nagy. It was listed on the NRA website. After registering, it turned out I'd need to take the class on a different day. Nagy was nice about it and let me switch. The class itself was excellent. Nagy is a great teacher. The first part of the class was about gun safety. He had a good presentation and materials. Instead of giving a dry lecture he involved the class, which was extremely helpful. I learned about gun safety instead of just being told about it. As a nervous first-time gun user this was as important to me, if not more so, than the instruction we got about rifles. We did get good instructions about those, though: different kinds (including ammunition), how they work, how to handle and shoot them from various positions, and how to maintain them. Lots of hands-on instruction. At the firing range Nagy was great, too. I had some trouble with the gun and he was very patient helping me. He gave good instructions about shooting accuracy. This was such a good class. I can't praise Nagy enough.  Aside from an array of NRA classes, they have one-on-one marksmanship classes at a very good price."
.
Kathleen, November 10, 2014: "I can't say enough awesome things about the folks here. They are very passionate and skilled at teaching. The class I took was intended to give me a new NRA Instructor certification. As one of the requirements, you have to demonstrate that you can speak in front of a class and proficiently about the topic assigned to you.  I won't lie. I made several key mistakes during one of my assigned sections.  I'm out of practice in this section and I had a very difficult time with presenting the material.  I got rather flustered. The trouble was lack of practice and experience on my part. Nagy and Tighe helped me and mentored me in such a fantastic way. They gave me great pointers and were very patient with me as I struggled to get the material correct.  It was clear they wanted me to pass as much as I wanted to pass the course requirements. They offer several courses and I am looking forward to training with them some on other NRA disciplines."
.
Diane, age 49, November 08, 2014:     "The class was very informative and my instructor, Tighe Smith was very knowledgeable. I liked the small and intimate class setting; it encourages people to open up and ask questions. Tighe was very patient and took his time to make sure I understood everything that was being discussed before proceeding to the range. I never felt rushed at all. The range time was an awesome experience and I learned a lot. Tighe never left my side and was constantly reminding me to take a deep breath and correct posture. I was very satisfied with my "results" at the range. The next day, I told my friends about my class and recommended NOVA Marksmanship Academy to my all co workers. I would definitely recommend NOVA Marksmanship Academy to anyone!"
.
Joel, Age 68, October 10, 2014:     "I did enjoy the First Steps Pistol Orientation course. I was very fortunate to have a one-on-one learning experience with an outstanding instructor, Tighe. He was knowledgeable and extremely well prepared. He covered the course material thoroughly providing hands on experience. Although I had some experience with firearms, mostly shotguns and rifles, I decided to take the class after purchasing a pistol. The course met all my expectations and covered areas I had not thought about. The time on the range with my instructor was also outstanding. Tighe was extremely helpful and pointed out technical improvements to correct bad habits and allow me to improve my marksmanship skills. The course was exactly what I was looking for and the material I took away from it will provide outstanding reference. I would recommend this course to others."
.
Patricia, age 80, October 3, 2014:     "We felt Tighe did an excellent job with the (First Steps Pistol Orientation)---something we had talked about doing for a long time—just kept putting off. Thank you for the correction chart – I printed it and I’m sure it will become useful as we practice."
.
Tommy, age 44, August 23, 2014:     "I decided to get my conceal carry and needed a state-required competency course. The NRA website took me to these guys, and I registered for the First Steps Pistol class. My instructor, Tighe, was very knowledgeable and friendly, and clearly explained the course material. I would highly recommend Tighe for and NOVA Marksmanship for any of your firearms instruction needs!"
.
Amanda, age 24, August 4, 2014:     "Tighe, Thank you so much for your time yesterday! The training was great and I walked away feeling more comfortable with my .45 and how to properly handle it, use it, and take it apart. I know it will take some time for me to feel most comfortable while operating it, but the range time helped tremendously since I now know how my gun feels. I will definitely be taking more courses in the future to further my knowledge on firearms!"
.
Chris, age 43, August 3, 2014:     "This was my second NRA course (NRA Basic Shotgun Shooting Course -10 hours) and my second course with Nova Marksmanship Academy and Nagy (the instructor). Nagy is a very good instructor and the small class size made it feel like he was teaching the class just to me. The class covered the NRA outline and Nagy fully answered all of my questions. The time at the range (Clark Brothers Gun Range - Warrenton VA.) was very personalized and one-on-one. A second instructor from the Nova Marksmanship Academy, Tighe, joined us and they both worked with me until I was hitting more clays than I was missing. As with my first review, I can honestly say that my experience echoes the many positive reviews they have earned. I would not hesitate to recommend them to family and friends. I look forward to taking more classes from them. Highly recommended."
.
Robert, age 60, July 29, 2014:      "Very positive experience with NOVA Marksmanship. Very professional, knowledgeable, and personable. Nagy provided shotgun training for my son and I, which provided us with the basics. Nagy is very engaged, and truly seems to love his work. He also took his own personal time to meet us at the trap range to give us pointers and basic instructions. I would definitely recommend Nova Marksmanship as a place to go for firearms training and will recommend other members of my family going forward."
.
Gary, age 51, June 14,2014:      "I'm not a gun guy, but my uncle passed away and left me with a Winchester rifle and I wanted to shoot it. I had no idea what I was doing so I started looking around for some kind of basic course so I wouldn't kill myself. I took Nagy's "NRA First Steps Rifle Orientation" course and it was exactly what I was looking for. Nagy knows his stuff and is very professional. Above all, he's an excellent teacher. He was not patronizing or condescending in any way, and answered all my questions completely and with sincerity. He almost deserves a 5-star rating, but I'm a tough bastard and rarely give 5 stars unless something is absolutely perfect (which is rare). Otherwise, I highly recommend Nagy's courses. If I ever feel the need to do more, I will definitely use him."
.
Chris, age 43, June 8, 2014:      "This was my first NRA course (NRA Basic Pistol Shooting Course - 8 hours) and my first course with Nova Marksmanship Academy. Prior to this course I had never handled a gun before so I was a bit nervous going into this. I wanted a hands-on course to learn the proper safe handling, shooting, cleaning, and storage of handguns. I did research online (Google, Yelp, Facebook) and found very positive reviews of the Nova Marksmanship Academy. Nagy (the instructor) was very prompt and thorough in answering all of my questions posed through emails and phone calls prior to signing up for the class. The class itself was very informative and hands-on. Nagy is a very patient instructor and has a genuine interest in teaching and firearms. The small class size made the learning experience feel more personalized and one-on-one. The class covered the NRA outline and Nagy fully answered all of our questions. He provided the NRA manual and other materials and used a variety of visual aids during the class (PowerPoint, videos, posters, and live demonstrations). The time at the range (Sharpshooters Small Arms Range - Lorton VA.) was very personalized and one-on-one. A second instructor from the Nova Marksmanship Academy, Tighe, joined us and they both patiently corrected my firing position and grip until I was putting numerous shots in and around the middle of the target. After talking this course from Nova Marksmanship Academy (Nagy/Tighe), I can honestly say that my experience echoes the many positive reviews they have earned. I would not hesitate to recommend them to family and friends. I look forward to taking more classes from them. Highly recommended."
.
Ted, age 58, June 5, 2014:     "My wife and I are relative novices when it comes to firearms. We recently purchased a 9mm pistol and signed up for the first steps course with the Academy. Nagy and his colleague, Tighe, spent over two hours explaining the fundamentals of gun ownership and use. They provided an excellent manual and other materials and used a variety of visual aids during the class (PowerPoint, videos, posters). Their explanations were clear and they were very patient and answered all of our questions. We then spent over an hour at Sharpshooters where they continued the one-on-one education while we practiced shooting. My wife was having some difficulty with the 9mm so they recommended she try a .38 revolver which was ideal for her situation. Overall, we felt the class was well worth the investment and would highly recommend the Academy for their professionalism and personal attention. After we get more practice under our belt, we definitely plan to sign up for more instruction with Nagy and Tighe."
.
Marge, age 65, May 17, 2014:     "This was not only my first NRA course but the first time I have held or shot a firearm. Thanks to Nagy and Tighe, the instructors, the four of us participating received excellent training and practice at the range. The shooting range was a continuation of the class with their guidance and instruction. Nagy and Tighe are detailed instructors, always keeping in mind the basic principles of firearm safety. I highly recommend them and the NOVA Marksmanship Academy to anyone who is interested in learning about firearms or increasing their existing proficiency with firearms. The atmosphere of the class was friendly and professional. The high level of experience of both our instructors was evident. If you are a beginner like me or advanced, this is the class for you."
.
Max, age 42, May 9, 2014:     "For a first timer, this was an awesome experience: Nagy is a very experienced, easy to follow, hands-on instructor. I highly recommend anyone looking to start or refresh their skills to look him up. Keep up the good work!"
.
David, May 4, 2014:     "I was looking for an introductory long-gun course for my 17-year old daughter. I taught her the bare minimum to safely get rounds off and on paper, but I wanted her to learn the fundamentals in more structured setting with folks who teach firearm skills and safety for a living. I found this with Mr. Nagy and Mr. Tighe of NOVA Marksmanship Academy, Inc. and their NRA affiliated FIRST Steps Rifle Orientation course (3-hours). Nagy was my daughter's primary instructor and he was very personable, professional and knowledgeable (as was Mr. Tighe!) Like another reviewer indicated, it seemed like Nagy was able to tailor the course specifically for my daughter's needs and capabilities. Nagy was very knowledgeable, articulate and patient. The session at the indoor range was great fun! It was conducted safely and Nagy showed real interest and enthusiasm in seeing my daughter improve her skill set. My daughter was beaming each time the target came back and she saw the results. She left the range with some swagger and great big smile! Thanks! P.S. I highly recommend NOVA Marksmanship Academy; I will be a repeat customer."
.
Julie, May 3, 2014:     "Long a military and weapons enthusiast, my son was finally able to earn 'First Steps Pistol Orientation' as a birthday gift. As a weapons enthusiast myself, I am very proud of his accomplishment and am thoroughly satisfied with the instructors level of knowledge and ability to convey it to my 15 year old son; it seemed like the instructor was able to tailor the course specifically for my son's needs and interests. I couldn't recommend more highly the NOVA Marksmanship Academy, Inc to anyone with even a passing interest in becoming a trained or better educated and responsible gun owner."
.
Tony, age 32, March 25, 2014:     "This was my first NRA course, I'm glad I chose NOVA Marksmanship Academy. The course was very informative and never boring. The instructor was friendly, courteous and had an answer to every question I could think of. He was very patient at the range and showed me the proper position and grip for safe, accurate shooting. The price was very reasonable for the amount of education you receive."
.
Ms. Kim, age 39, March 17,2014:     "This was my first NRA course. Nagy was very professional and informative. He was very patient as this was my first handgun class. I learned a lot and will take additional courses because there is a lot to learn. I would highly recommend the instructors at NOVA Marksmanship!"
.
Edward, age 51, March 11, 2014:     "I highly recommend NOVA Marksmanship Academy's Nagy and Tighe. I enrolled my son in a First Steps pistol course through the NRA and was immediately contacted by Nagy. Nagy took the time to find out more about my son and why I had signed him up for the course. My son is preparing for a proficiency test that involves marksmanship skills with the pistol, and he had never had the opportunity to fire a pistol before. I wanted to take him to a firing range, but felt having expert instruction on the safe use of a pistol would be ideal since it has been more than ten years since I handled a firearm. Since my son is under the age of 21, I took the course with him. Safety was the foundation of the course of instruction provided by Nagy and Tighe. They thoroughly covered the course material, then escorted us to the range to continue with the practical aspects of safely using a pistol. This was a great experience and I am considering having my wife and other kids take courses or clinics via the NOVA Marksmanship Academy."
.
Jason, age 37, February 20, 2014:      "As a Christmas present, I signed my wife and I up for Nova Marksmanship’s NRA First Steps Orientation Course. I had owned a pistol for several years, but had never gone through any formal shooting course. After looking at many options in the NOVA area, I contacted Nagy. Admittedly, I did this because the course offered by Nova Marksmanship was considerably less expensive than other classes available in the area. Due to the comparatively low price I had concerns about the quality of instruction. My concerns were quickly laid to rest after exchanging emails with Nagy. Prior to officially signing up for the course in inundated him with email questions. He was quick to respond and always gracious (at one point I apologized for all of the questions and he assured me that it was not a problem and that he was happy to answer as many questions as I had). Based on our correspondence, I felt comfortable enough that I signed my wife and I up for his course. Because we registered for a course held a couple of days after Christmas, my wife and I were the only two people enrolled. As such, we met Nagy and his business partner, Tighe, at Nova’s residential location. Apparently Nova uses a facility for larger course and either Tighe’s or Nagy’s residence when there is smaller enrollment. While this initially seemed odd, upon arrival I could not have been more pleased. The set up was excellent and Tighe welcomed us into his home as if we were old friends. Essentially, we were fortunate enough to have one-on-one instruction. The instruction was interesting and while a survey in scope, it included enough detail that I learned a great deal. The lessons acquired during the classroom instruction are still with me, which is a tribute to the way Nagy and Tighe led the instruction. Not only did we learn the basics of safe pistol handling, operation, etc., we also spent time field stripping and re-assembling my handgun. The instruction was interactive and Nagy and Tighe were great about answering any questions we had, regardless of how strange. Needless to say, the experience outshined my expectations. After the classroom instruction, we went to Sharpshooters in Lorton for range time. Since we were the only two enrolled, we again had one-on-one instruction. I spent time shooting with both Nagy and Tighe and would simply say that no matter which of the two are instructing you, the instruction is equally excellent. Both were constantly aware of safety issues. Additionally, both were able to quickly assess any of the issues/deficiencies I was experiencing while shooting and provide quick ways to correct the problems. For instance, I had issues anticipating recoil apparently causing me to drop the front of the pistol a fraction of a second before pulling the trigger. Nagy was great in providing me with simple and effective ways to cure the problem (aside from more range time). In sum, I would highly recommend Nova Marksmanship to anyone looking for shooting instruction. Their prices are comparatively very low, but don’t let this fool you – the instruction is unbelievable. As a beginner, I never felt embarrassed about my lack of knowledge or shooting skills. Both Nagy and Tighe are professional, insightful and understanding. They listened to and answered our questions and concerns and were overall just great to hang out with. If I ever take another shooting class again, there is no question that it will be with Nova Marksmanship."
.
Michael, age 29 , February 18, 2014:     "Tighe was an amazing instructor! He was very thorough, friendly, and smart, and his instruction was educational, fascinating, well-explained when I had questions, and fun! The shooting range was also a really great time, and Ty taught me a lot. I'd suggest this course to anyone and give it the highest marks!"
.
Adrian, age 46, January 28, 2014:     "This was my first formal training with a hand gun. The instructor (Tighe) was informative but not overwhelming or trying to show off. Immediately after class we went to the shooting range and he helped keep my form good and I shot better than I'd hoped. I would strongly recommend this company to anyone seeking to improve their gun safety and shooting skills."
.
Andy, age 44, December 31, 2013:     "I'm an experienced marksman and decided to expand my horizons to the shotgun discipline. Although I have plenty of experience with other firearms (rifle, pistol) I knew I needed an entry level course in the shotgun. I found NOVA Marksmanship Academy on the NRA instructors page, had a couple of conversations with Nagy, and knew I found the right course and instructor. The course (NRA First Steps shotgun) covered everything I needed to know in detail I asked. Nagy is a very patient instructor and his genuine interest in teaching and firearms. He is very student-focused and will tailor the course to your needs. The range time was effective and demonstrably increased my knowledge and skills with my shotgun. I really enjoyed the class, and am lucky to have found Nagy as an instructor. Highly recommend!"
.
Mirco, age 53, December 15, 2013:     "Last Saturday I took a FIRST STEPS RIFLE class at the NOVA Marksmanship Academy: simply put, it ROCKS! Nagy is an amazing instructor: at once very experienced and very passionate: I pestered him with questions, and he always came back with useful insights. Not only that: at the range he explained everything, took away my anxiety, and I left feeling that in 3 hours I really got onto something. I look forward to taking more classes at the Academy, a truly rewarding experience! 100% THUMBS UP"
.
Emily, age 27, December 14, 2013:     "Nova Marksmanship Academy is AMAZING! I had never shot a gun before, and I was basically scared of guns prior to taking this class. My instructor Nagy was extremely patient and helpful. The course itself was very informative, and I learned not just how to hold and shoot a gun, but how the gun works, and how to load, unload, dismantle and clean it. By the time we got to the range, I was excited to try out my new skills. Again, Nagy was extremely helpful in showing me what to do to correct my grip and aim on the gun. I shot so well that some of the people working at the range said they were impressed. Nova Marksmanship Academy has totally changed the way I think about firearms. They are extremely professional, have a ton of experience, and are gladly willing to work with all skill levels. Because of Nagy, I went from being too nervous to even handle a gun, to being a confident and skilled shooter. I give them a 10 star rating!"
.
Nicole, age 21, November 17, 2013:      "A 5 star rating isn't justice! NOVA Marksmanship Academy, Inc., needs a 12 star rating. Never before in my life have I shot a pistol, let alone, clean and disarm one. Taking this course was one of the best decisions in my life and not to mention it was a blast (no pun intended). Nagy is one of the best instructors and I am very pleased with how professional and patient he was (awesome military stories) and let's not forget their low competitive rates in the area. After the writing portion was done;  we went to a local shooting range. again, never before in my life have I shot a gun, so I was a bit nervous. Nagy walked me through the steps and gave me the confidence I needed. Before I knew it, I was changing magazines like a pro. Basically:  Would I go back? YES!!! I'm pretty excited to take FIRST Steps Rifle Orientation this weekend (first time with a rifle, this should be interesting); Would I recommend to others? Yes! Why are you still reading this? Go to their website and register. Trust me, you won't regret it!"
.

Said, age 49, November 2, 2013:     "This is not my first NRA course, but my first course with Nova Marksmanship. I found Nagy the instructor not only very professional but also friendly and funny. He filled the NRA course with a lot of details and examples from his own military background , the session at the firing range was more like a clinic where Nagy S. patiently corrected my firing position and grip. Finally about the pricing, those NRA courses range in prices for the same course and different providers will offer different  deals; I found NOVA Marksmanship prices the best among those prices, their deals cover also the range time and targets, it's highly recommended . "

.
Mike, age 34, October 27, 2013:     "I would highly recommend NOVA Marksmanship Academy, Inc.    I am new to the AR-15 rifle and they covered all the fundamentals of the rifle very well.  After the instructional class we went over to the range and I got a choice to either shoot the 5.56 or 22lr caliber.  Nagy S. was my instructor and he taught me how to shoot the rifle standing, seated and also laying down (prone position).  He was very patient and an excellent teacher.  5 out of 5 stars!  The fee was the lowest in the area as well."
.
Nate, age 23, October 19, 2013:     "I had never shot a pistol before and was a little nervous signing up for a course.  I called Nagy at NOVA Marksmanship and explained my lack of experience with firearms and my desire to learn how to operate and fire a weapon safely. He was extremely encouraging and told me that they welcome all skill levels.  I also had recently moved to DC and don't possess a car, Nagy told me that wouldn't be an issue and offered to pick me up at the Vienna Metro stop and drive me to his class and then to the range.  After a brief phone conversation he made me feel extremely comfortable so I signed up later that evening with a friend.  He set all this up with less than 24 hours notice.  The next day he picked a friend and I up at the Vienna Metro right on time. He brought us to his office where we met his business partner Tighe S. The office was a very professional setting, which I appreciated.  In the next two hours Nagy and Tighe walked us through a variety of aspects from safety considerations, to proper loading, important aspects of firing and how to clear a jam and clean a weapon. They were very patient and answered all of my questions (of which there were many). They even gave us coffee!  After 2 hours in the classroom we moved to the range where we fired .22 and .9 caliber rounds. Nagy was very encouraging and professional and even with just an hour of practice I felt comfortable handling a firearm.  On top of his outstanding teaching, Nagy is a genuinely nice guy. He was very friendly and eager to make sure that we were comfortable and enjoying our experience. He also has a wealth of experience. His partner Tighe was outstanding as well.  If you're on the fence about signing up definitely give Nagy a call and I'm sure he'd be happy to talk.  Sign up- I have no doubt you'll enjoy your experience."
.
Gianna, age 45, October 16, 2013:     "I had basically no experience with firearms; I wanted to not only be comfortable handling and shooting, but also want to be confident enough to conceal carry.   After only a few hours, I feel quite comfortable with my Glock.  He showed me the essentials of safety, how to handle, shoot, take it apart, clean it, and put it back together.   I even learned how to handle misfires, which I hadn't even considered.  Shooting at the range topped it off... putting everything I learned in the classroom training to the test.   I learned more than I ever imagined in such a short period of time, it was SO worth the time and money spent.    I would recommend NOVA Marksmanship, and specifically Nagy S. to anyone who wants to feel comfortable and confident with their firearms."
.
Louise, age 71, September 27, 2013:     "I just spent a day with a wonderful firearm and safety instructor Nagy S.  I came home so excited with my information and expertise in firing a handgun after a day of instruction and coaching. Nagy is an informative expert instructor who gives little military tips using his military background in handling a gun. And, the best part was the fun of being able to hit one perfect bull's eye and numerous shots in and around the middle of the target. Wow, a great day!  I had no gun expertise before this day. I highly recommend Nagy and his associates."



null